Focus on UCLA in China

Located in Westwood, Los Angeles, UCLA is one of America’s top public owned universities. Its business and finance, high tech industry, and movie art majors are among the best in America. Established in 1881, It is the second oldest in the University of California system, second to Berkeley. In this focus on UCLA, we will go over what makes this university one of the best in the United States and also how can it help you grow your career in China.

What makes UCLA so Great?

Now, UCLA has 163 buildings and an area of 419 acres. It has 109 subjects, 12 professional school, 800 research institutions, 32,100 undergraduate students, 14,000 graduate students, and 4,000 teachers. UCLA’s achievement rests not only in research, but also in sports. 76 of its students has played in the NBA. 12 of them are current NBA players. 37 of the school team of UCLA have been in the ‘dream team’ of NCAA. And, 6 are in the Hall of Fame.

16 teachers and graduates have won the Nobel Prize. In 2006, the Chinese Australian math scholar, Terence Tao(陶哲轩) won the Fields Medal. In 2009, Elinor Ostrom won the Nobel Economics Prize, and became the first female to win the Nobel Economics Prize. In 2010, Richard Heck, who graduated from UCLA, won the Nobel Chemistry Prize. In 2011, Judea Pearl, a professor in the school of computer science in UCLA, won the Turing Award. And, in 2012, again, Lloyd Shapley won the Nobel Economics Prize. Among UCLA’s professors, there are 301 academicians. And, in UCLA’s history, there are 10 winners of America’s National Golden Award of Scientific Research, which equals the record of Harvard. In the 2010 National Research Council evaluation of universites, it has 40 subjects that are in the top 10 of America, following only Harvard and Berkeley.

In the rankings of Times in year 2022, UCLA ranked the 20th among all American universities, and the 2nd among all public owned universities. Every year, it receives the most undergraduate applications among all American universities.

How can UCLA help you start a career in China?

UCLA has many exchange programs with Chinese schools. These schools include: Peking University(北京大学), Tsinghua University(清华大学), Tianjin University(天津大学), Wuhan University(武汉大学), Huazhong University of Science and Technology(华中科技大学), Renmin University of China(中国人民大学), Nankai University(南开大学), Zhejiang University(浙江大学), Xi’an Jiaotong University(西安交通大学), Shanghai Jiaotong University(上海交通大学), Fudan University(复旦大学), Nanjing University(南京大学), Minzu university of China(中央民族大学), Beijing Normal University(北京师范大学), Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications(北京邮电大学), East China Normal University(华东师范大学), Shandong University(山东大学), Sichuan University(四川大学) and Hangzhou Normal University(杭州师范大学). Their cooperation includes jointly given degrees and exchange programs, and summer or winter schools.

On top of those partnerships, UCLA is offering multiple Chinese language programs and various international business programs to give you the tools to start your career in China. At Daxue, we can help you further with our internship program that will help you develop a better understanding of the Chinese market. With us, you will work on market research reports and in-depth articles in the fields that interest you the most and learn more about China’s business environment. 

To start your journey, send an email to